A dire flail is a double weapon. You can fight with it as if fighting with two weapons, but if you do, you incur all the normal attack penalties associated with fighting with two weapons, as if you were using a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. A creature using a double weapon in one hand, such as an ogre using a dire flail, can't use it as a double weapon.
With a dire flail, you get a +2 bonus on your opposed attack roll when attempting to disarm an enemy (including the opposed attack roll to avoid being disarmed if you fail to disarm your enemy).
You can also use this weapon to make trip attacks. If you are tripped during your own trip attempt, you can drop the dire flail to avoid being tripped.
|Exotic Weapon - Melee|
|See the description of this weapon for special rules. Double weapon|
Preferred weapon of: No known deity.