Maztican Prestige Class : Jaguar Knight

by David Schwartz, Dragon #315

Jaguar knights are associated with the temple of Zaltec, god of war. Although this temple is opposed to that of the eagle knights in philosophy, the two knightly orders are generally friendly. To the knights, nationality is more important than religion.


To qualify to become a Jaguar Knight, a character must fulfill all the following criteria:

Class Skills

The jaguar knight's class skills are Balance, Climb, Concentration, Craft, Handle Animal, Hide, Intimidate, Jump, Knowledge (arcana), Move Silently, Perform, Spellcraft, Survival, Swim, and Use Rope.

Skill Points at Each Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Class Features

All of the following are class features of the jaguar knight prestige class.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Jaguar knights are proficient with all simple and martial weapons, as well as with light armor, hide armor, and all types of shields. Additionally, a jaguar knight has the right to buy and wear jaguar knight armor (see Maztican Armor).

Hishina Spells: At each jaguar knight level, the character chooses one hishina spell (see the Hishina Spell List), which she can use once per day as a spell-like ability. If she chooses the same spell more than once, she can use it one additional time per day. Her spell choices are limited according to her level, as indicated on the Jaguar Knight Advancement table. Thus, an 8th-level jaguar knight can use eight hishina spells per day as spell-like abilities, one up to 3rd level, four up to 2nd level, and three of 1st level. Her caster level is equal to her eagle knight class level. The save DCs are Wisdom-based.

Jaguar Form (Su): A jaguar knight can assume the form of a jaguar (use leopard statistics) while wearing jaguar knight armor. This ability functions like the polymorph spell, except that the jaguar knight is limited to the form of a jaguar (or a dire jaguar at higher level). This ability is usable once per day at 1st level, and one additional time per day every two jaguar knight levels thereafter (at 3rd, 5th, 7th, and 9th levels). At 5th level and above, the jaguar knight can choose to take the form of a dire jaguar (use tiger statistics).

Poison Use (Ex): At 2nd level, a jaguar knight is trained in the use of poison and never risks accidentally poisoning herself when applying poison to a blade.

Cat Eyes (Ex): At 4th level, a jaguar knight gains darkvision to a range of 60 feet and low-light vision.

Spell Resistance: At 6th level, a jaguar knight gains spell resistance equal to 10 + her Charisma modifier. At 10th level, her spell resistance increases to 15 + her Charisma modifier. If she already has spell resistance, the benefits do not stack, and she uses this value or her other spell resistance value, whichever is higher.

Pounce (Ex): At 8th level, a jaguar knight can make a full attack after a charge, even though she has moved.

Jaguar KnightHit Die: d10
CLBABFortRefWillSpecialHishina Spells
1st+1+2+0+0Jaguar form 1/day+1 1st level or lower hishina spell
2nd+2+3+0+0Poison Use+1 1st-level or lower hishina spell
3rd+3+3+1+1Jaguar form 2/day+1 1st-level or lower hishina spell
4th+4+4+1+1Cat eyes+1 2nd-level or lower hishina spell
5th+5+4+1+1Jaguar form 3/day (dire Jaguar)+1 2nd-level or lower hishina spell
6th+6+5+2+2Spell resistance (10 + Cha modifier)+1 2nd-level or lower hishina spell
7th+7+5+2+2Jaguar form 4/day+1 2nd-level or lower hishina spell
8th+8+6+2+2Pounce+1 3rd-level or lower hishina spell
9th+9+6+3+3Jaguar form 5/day+1 3rd-level or lower hishina spell
10th+10+7+3+3Spell resistance (15 + Cha modifier)+1 3rd-level or lower hishina spell

Hishina Spell List

Jaguar knights choose their spell-like abilities from this list.

Source: Dragon #315

Other Exclusive Prestige Classes