Ghostwalk Prestige Class : Ghost Slayer

Within and near the city of Manifest, the disembodied souls of the dead walk among the living. Some people think this is unnatural and wish the dead would take their proper places in the True Afterlife. The ghost slayer is such a person, one who studies ghosts so that they can be easily dispatched and no longer bother the living with their presence.

Most ghost slayers are barbarians, fighters, rangers, or rogues, although there is at least one religious cult that feels ghosts are an abomination and must be driven out. Few sorcerers or wizards become ghost slayers, since they have more effective means of dealing with ghosts. Ghost slayers are not necessarily evil; some focus on eliminating only evil ghosts, while others consider any kind of ghost an obscene mark upon the face of the earth. Ghost slayers are never themselves active as ghosts, although one may remain around long enough to inform others of his death, of the location of his body, and that he wishes to be raised from the dead.

While there are folk in Manifest that would rather see fewer ghosts, only madmen suggest killing them all to restore the proper state of things. Therefore, ghost slayers, like assassins, must conceal their nature and goals. Some work alone, some are members of a secret organization such as the Knights of the Quiet, and others work with outside factions such as the yuan-ti and undead to promote their cause.


To qualify to become a Ghost Slayer, a character must fulfill all the following criteria:

Class Skills

The ghost slayer's class skills are Bluff, Climb, Craft, Diplomacy, Disguise, Forgery, Gather Information, Hide, Knowledge (ghost lore), Listen, Profession, Sense Motive, and Spot.

Skill Points at Each Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Class Features

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Ghost slayers gain no proficiency with any weapons, armor, or shields.

Untainted Spirit (Ex): A ghost slayer is immune to all forms of possession.

Silver Aura (Su): Once a slayer has attained 2nd level, all of his melee weapons (including unarmed strikes) are treated as silver for the purpose of their ability to stun a ghost with a successful critical hit or sneak attack.

Protected Vessel (Ex): A slayer of 3rd level or higher gains a +3 bonus on all saving throws against ghost powers. Furthermore, he reduces ability damage or drain caused by ghost powers by 1 point for each attack (minimum 0).

Detect Ghost (Sp): At 4th level and higher, a ghost slayer can use detect ghost at will as a spell-like ability.

Ghost Touch Aura (Su): As a move-equivalent action, a ghost slayer of 4th level or higher can cause his weapon to glow with a dull violet aura for 1 round (if unarmed strike is the weapon chosen, the aura affects one of the slayer's limbs). This aura makes the weapon act as if it had the ghost touch property. A slayer may use this ability at will.

Ghost Bane Fires (Su): As a free action, a 5th-level ghost slayer may invoke blue flames upon his weapon that last for 1 round (if unarmed strike is the weapon chosen, the aura affects all of the slayer's limbs, allowing all unarmed strikes by the slayer to be affected). These flames grant the weapon the ghost bane property. This ability can be used a number of times per day equal to the slayer's class level + his Charisma modifier.

Ghost SlayerHit Die: d8
1+1+2+0+2Untainted spirit
2+2+3+0+3Silver aura
3+3+3+1+3Protected vessel
4+4+4+1+4Detect ghost, ghost touch aura
5+5+4+1+4Ghost bane fires

Source: Ghostwalk

Older Prestige class adapted to 3.5

Other Exclusive Prestige Classes