General Prestige Class : Scar Enforcer

"We have been abandoned by our fathers and mothers. We are treated as children and slaves despite our talents and ambitions. If they will not give us what we want through their own conscience, then we shall take it, by guile and the blade." - Vakra, Bane of Elves

Scar enforcers are angry, embittered half-elves who have rejected both sides of their ancestry. They band with others of similar attitude, collectively known as the Scars, using stealth and violence to strike back at the societies that marginalize them.

Becoming A Scar Enforcer

Taking levels of rogue is the easiest way to become a scar enforcer; all the entry skills are class skills for you, and your sneak attack dice from rogue levels stack with those you gain from scar enforcer levels. Bards are the natural second choice, followed by clerics (with the Trickery domain) and sorcerers. Dexterity (for sneaking) and Charisma (for bluffing) are key abilities for you.


To qualify to become a Scar Enforcer, a character must fulfill all the following criteria:

Class Skills

The scar enforcer's class skills are Balance, Bluff, Climb, Concentration, Craft, Diplomacy, Disable Device, Disguise, Gather Information, Hide, Hide, Intimidate, Knowledge (local), Listen, Move Silently, Open Lock, Profession, Search, Sense Motive, Spot, and Tumble.

Skill Points at Each Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Class Features

While not an ideal straight-up combatant, the scar enforcer is more than a match for human and elf opponents. You work best striking from hidden positions, using your sneak attack and smite abilities to deal massive damage with a single blow.

Spells per Day: At each even-numbered level, you gain new spells per day (and spells known, if applicable) as if you had also gained a level in a spellcasting class to which you belonged before adding the prestige class level. You do not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained. If you had more than one spellcasting class before becoming a scar enforcer, you must decide to which class to add each level for the purpose of determining spells per day and spells known

Favored Enemy (Ex): As a member of this class, you gain a +2 bonus on Bluff, Listen, Sense Motive, Spot, and Survival checks when using these skills against humans or elves. likewise, you gain a +2 bonus on weapon damage rolls against these races. See the ranger class feature.

Smite Enemy (Su): Once per day starting at 2nd level, you can deliver a powerful melee attack to a human or elf foe. You add your Charisma bonus (if any) on your attack roll and deal an extra 1 point of damage per class level. If you accidentally smite a creature that is neither an elf nor a human, the smite has no effect, but the ability is still used up for the day.

At 5th level, you can use this ability twice per day. At 8th level, you can use this ability three times per day.

Sneak Attack (Ex): Beginning at 3rd level, you deal extra damage when flanking an opponent or any time the target would be denied its Dexterity bonus (except on ranged attacks, which must be point-blank to deliver the extra damage). See the rogue class feature.

Disguise Self (Sp): Starting at 4th level, you can use disguise self three times per day, but only to assume the appearance of a human or an elf.

Hide in Plain Sight (Ex): Beginning at 7th level, you can use the Hide skill in natural terrain even while being observed. See the ranger class feature.

Forgo Heritage (Ex): At 10th level, you leave behind your racial heritage. You are no longer considered an elf or a human for the purpose of beneficial or harmful effects. (You still count as a half-elf for the purpose of qualifying for this class.)

Scar EnforcerHit Die: d8
1st+0+0+0+2Favored enemy (elves and humans)-
2nd+1+0+0+3Smite enemy 1/day+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
3rd+2+1+1+3Sneak attack +1d6-
4th+3+1+1+4Disguise self+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
5th+3+1+1+4Smite enemy 2/day-
6th+4+2+2+5Sneak attack +2d6+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
7th+5+2+2+5Hide in plain sight_
8th+6+2+2+6Smite enemy 3/day+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
9th+6+3+3+6Sneak attack +3d6-
10th+7+3+3+7Forgo heritage+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class

Source: Races of Destiny

General Prestige Classes