General Prestige Class : Mage Hunter

Regardless of the times, an experienced mage hunter has contacts throughout most cities, at all levels, on both sides of the law. From these sources, they gather threads of information, weaving and braiding them into aggressive prosecutions - and in many cases, into a hangman's noose.

The mage hunter is a specialized champion of the priesthood of the moons; as such, mage hunters are almost exclusively clerics of Solinari, Lunitari, or Nuitari. Membership is by invitation only, and characters must undergo secluded, yearlong training during which they prove their worth by completing small quests and other tests. Two of every five aspirants do not survive the training. Upon completion, they take the following oath and follow it unto death, peaceful or otherwise:

The Code of Alipha:


To qualify to become a Mage Hunter, a character must fulfill all the following criteria:

Class Skills

The mage hunter's class skills are Bluff, Concentration, Craft, Diplomacy, Gather Information, Heal, Intimidate, Knowledge (arcana), Knowledge (religion), Perform (In the case of the mage hunter; the skill is in oratory and legal arguments for trial purposes; as opposed to entertainment skill), Profession, Sense Motive, Speak Language, and Spellcraft.

Skill Points at Each Level: 3 + Int modifier.

Class Features

All of the following are class features of the Mage Hunter prestige class.

Feats: Training for the mage hunter prestige class gives a character the following feats:

Special: Members of this class must have completed their year of training and survived, or they can be in the process of completing a final quest or quests when they join a party.

Spells: Mage hunter spells are divine in nature; characters with this prestige class follow its specific spell progression table (see below). As lawful characters, they may not cast Chaos spells. In addition, mage hunters cannot cast the following: cure light wounds, cure moderate wounds, cure serious wounds, cure critical wounds, healing circle, heal, regenerate, mass heal, and true resurrection. While moon priests worship all three moons, individual priests can pay veneration to particular moons. Spell choice and use should reflect alignment.

Detect Magic: After taking their oath to Alipha and performing the rituals to become mage hunters, characters can detect magic at will, as per the spell.

Martial Weapon Proficiency (scimitar): Upon joining the elite order, a mage hunter is trained in the use of the scimitar.

Resistance Bonus: Mage hunters typically deal with renegade wizards, as such, they must stand against a spellcaster in combat. At 2nd level, a +1 resistance bonus is added to any saving throws a mage hunter makes against spells. The bonus does not apply to spell-like abilities, only to cast spells or item-generated effects.

Exotic Weapon Proficiency (garafa): Upon reaching 4th level, a mage hunter can be trained in the use of the garafa - a crescent-bladed short staff. This is available at the DM's discretion, and it is presented only when the character has served as a mage hunter for at least three full levels.

Spell Turning: At 10th level, a mage hunter can cast spell turning once per day as per the spell of the same name (as though by a caster of 13th level).

Weapon and Armor Ability: Mage hunters disdain armor, preferring to wear their faith as a shield. Amulets, rings, and their holy vestments grant the mage hunter various kinds of protection. The items worn are chosen by the individual user and are bestowed upon them by superiors or purchased. In combat, a mage hunter uses the garafa, a bladed quarterstaff in combat, or the scimitar, typically worn across their back.

Equipment/Magic Items: Most moon priests wear the Amulet of the Moons, which is a lesser medallion that acts in the same way as and amulet of natural armor +2. Mage hunters also wear the Mantua Divina, their holy vestments, which function as a cloak of resistance +2. Some priests of the moons of significant notoriety and repute are also granted Alipha's Seal, a ring of protection +3. The bonuses these items offer to saves help offset the moon priest's lack of traditional armor. Individuals often wear a wide variety of other magical jewelry and items for protective purposes. The garafa is the length of a quarterstaff, having a bronze-shod foot and a crescent-shaped blade at its head. It is the same overall length as a quarterstaff, though it's twice as heavy. The blade inflicts wounds much as would a scythe, while the shod end deals damage similar to that of a quarterstaff.

Mage hunters also use the scimitar, and it is commonly found amongst its lower ranks. Some are nonmagical, but some may be ensorcelled uniquely, with no two having the same capabilities. Few of the ancient swords from Alipha's time have survived.

The most valued and useful possessions of any mage hunter are their manuals, the Persuum Hereticus and the Litigatum Hereticus. The former is a tome of wisdom for use in hunting mages, while the latter is a guide to successful prosecutions of them.

Mage HunterHit Die: d8
1st0202exotic weapon proficiency: scimitar, detect magic31----
2nd1303magic resistance42----
4th3414exotic weapon proficiency: garafa532---
10th7737spell turning644332

Source: Web

General Prestige Classes